2013 ALA award winners and honor books

Thank you to Jennifer Nelson Books www.jennifernelson.com who shared this news recently via email. I’m not sure how many of you got this, mine was Bcc and didn’t appear to be through our group email, but it is a wonderful buying guide. Happy shopping!

John Newbery Medal

“The One and Only Ivan,” written by Katherine Applegate
Three Newbery Honor Books also were named:
·      “Splendors and Glooms” by Laura Amy Schlitz
·      “Bomb: The Race to Build—and Steal—the World’s Most Dangerous Weapon” by Steve Sheinkin
·      “Three Times Lucky” by Sheila Turnage
Randolph Caldecott Medal
“This Is Not My Hat,” illustrated and written by Jon Klassen
Five Caldecott Honor Books also were named:
·      “Creepy Carrots!” illustrated by Peter Brown, written by Aaron Reynolds
·      “Extra Yarn,” illustrated by Jon Klassen, written by Mac Barnett
·      “Green,” illustrated and written by Laura Vaccaro Seeger
·      “One Cool Friend,” illustrated by David Small, written by Toni Buzzeo 
·     “Sleep Like a Tiger,” illustrated by Pamela Zagarenski
Theodor Seuss Geisel Award for most distinguished beginning reader:
“Up, Tall and High!” written and illustrated by Ethan Long
Three Geisel Honor Books were named:
·      “Let’s Go for a Drive!” written and illustrated by Mo Willems
·      “Pete the Cat and His Four Groovy Buttons”
·      “Rabbit & Robot: The Sleepover,” written and illustrated by Cece Bell
Michael L. Printz Award for excellence in literature written for young adults:
“In Darkness,” written by Nick Lake
Four Printz Honor Books also were named:
·      “Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe” by Benjamin Alire Sáenz
·      “Code Name Verity” by Elizabeth Wein
·      “Dodger” by Terry Pratchett
·      “The White Bicycle” by Beverley Brenna
Coretta Scott King (Author) Book Award
“Hand in Hand: Ten Black Men Who Changed America,” written by Andrea Davis Pinkney and illustrated by Brian Pinkney
Two King Author Honor Book recipients were selected:
·      “Each Kindness” by Jacqueline Woodson, illustrated by E. B. Lewis
·      “No Crystal Stair: A Documentary Novel of the Life and Work of Lewis Michaux, Harlem Bookseller” by Vaunda Micheaux Nelson, illustrated by R. Gregory Christie
Coretta Scott King (Illustrator) Book Award:
“I, Too, Am America,” illustrated by Bryan Collier
Three King Illustrator Honor Book recipients were selected:
·      “H. O. R. S. E.,” illustrated and written by Christopher Myers
·      “Ellen’s Broom,” illustrated by Daniel Minter, written by Kelly Starling Lyons
·      “I Have a Dream: Martin Luther King, Jr.” illustrated by Kadir Nelson, written by Martin Luther King, Jr.
Schneider Family Book Award
Children Ages 0-10 – “Back to Front and Upside Down!” written and illustrated by Claire Alexander
Children Ages 11-13 – “A Dog Called Homeless” written by Sarah Lean
Children Ages 13-18 – Somebody, Please Tell Me Who I Am,” written by Harry Mazer and Peter Lerangis
Alex Awards for the 10 best adult books that appeal to teen audiences:
·      “Caring is Creepy,” by David Zimmerman
·      “Girlchild,” by Tupelo Hassman
·      “Juvenile in Justice,” by Richard Ross
·      “Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore,” by Robin Sloan
·      “My Friend Dahmer,” by Derf Backderf
·      “One Shot at Forever,” by Chris Ballard
·      “Pure,” by Julianna Baggott
·      “The Round House,” by Louise Erdrich
·      “Tell the Wolves I’m Home,” by Carol Rifka Brunt
·      “Where’d You Go, Bernadette?,” by Maria Semple
If you are interested in the many other Awards and Honors posted at the ALA Mid-Winter Conference, please let us know and we will send you the complete list. These include the following Awards:
·      Andrew Carnegie Medal
·      Laura Ingalls Wilder Award
·      Coretta Scott King-Virginia Hamilton Award for Lifetime Achievement
·      Margaret A. Edwards Award
·      Mildred L. Batchelder Award
·      Odyssey Award
·      Pura Belpré (Illustrator) Award
·      Pura Belpré (Author) Award
·      Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Award
·      Stonewall Book Award – Mike Morgan & Larry Romans Children’s & Young Adult Literature Award
·      William C. Morris Award
·      YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults

Leave a Reply